County Government of Kiambu

Z+ Z Z-

kiambu facebook

kiambu twitter

kiambu youtube


Having regard to the county Governments created under Article 176 of the Constitution of the Republic of Kenya, 2010 and whose roles and functions are enumerated in the fourth Schedule of the Constitution and further elaborated in the County Government Act, 2012,

In pursuance of the provisions of Article 189 of the Constitution of the Republic of Kenya which encourages the Government at each level, and different governments at the county level, to co-operate in the performance of the functions and exercise of powers and, for that purpose, to set up joint committees and joint authorities,

Now therefore, the Mount Kenya and Aberdares regions have come up with a regional bloc of counties, which involve: Kiambu, Embu , Meru ,Kirinyaga , Laikipia , Murang’a, Nyeri , Nyandarua, Nakuru and Tharaka Nithi.

On 9th March the trade CECs from this counties met in Meru to Review a Memorandum of Understanding that was signed by the Governors of these counties. H.E Deputy Governor Gerald Githinji being the Vice Chairman of this committee and the CEC of Trade Department in Kiambu County Government represented Kiambu with the tourism, trade and cooperatives directors Shiru Mwangi, Julius Mwololo and Ephraim Mathenge respectively.

The committee confirmed the available 2015/2016 budget allocation, budget contribution 2016/17 and the road map for the launch of the Bloc during the Devolution Conference in April. Strategic partners to bring on board were also identified. The committee revised on the strategic pillars that will form the core focus of their collaboration and regional integration. These are:
• Agriculture and Agri-business
• Industry
• Tourism
• Healthcare
• Water & resource Management

The enabling pillars identified shall be :
• Infrastructure (transport & energy)
• Information & Communications Technology
• Policy, Legislation & capacity building

The Launch of the bloc is planned to be in April.

University of Nairobi University of Nairobi

Latest Tweets

Governor's Tweets

News Updates

View all


  • Kiambu County Spatial Planning Bill 2015

    Kiambu County Spatial Planning Bill 2015

  • Talent Iko Kiambu

    Talent Iko Kiambu.

  • Kiambu Brochure

    Kiambu Brochure.

Member Login